LAST CHANCE to register for the "GCxGC-TOF-MS in Food and Feed Control: Going Beyond Dioxin Measurements” Webcast!

LAST CHANCE to register for the "GCxGC-TOF-MS in Food and Feed Control: Going Beyond Dioxin Measurements” Webcast!

Don’t miss your chance to register for LCGC Editors’ Series free webcast—“GCxGC-TOF-MS in Food and Feed Control: Going Beyond Dioxin Measurements”. This Friday, October 26th, Jef Focant, of the University of Liège, Belgium, will discuss his work on analyzing dioxins in food and feeds with GCxGC-TOFMS. Check out the info below to learn more about this webinar!

LCGC Webcast
Live Webcast
Friday, October 26, 2018 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST
Register now
Presented by These Industry Experts
 
Jean-François (Jef) Focant
 
Jean-François (Jef) Focant
Head of the Chemistry Department
University of Liège, Belgium
 
 
Moderator
Laura Bush
Editorial Director
LCGC
Event Overview
The measurement of dioxins and dioxin-like compounds in food and feed (ingredients) is an important task within the EU food safety policy. It has been heavily documented and described in detail in official EU Regulation documents for the last 20 years. Such measurements require the best available gas chromatography–mass spectrometry (GC-MS) technology in terms of sensitivity and specificity. Both gold standard sector MS and triple quadrupole MS analyzers, performing in isotope dilution (ID) mode, are used as confirmatory tools for precise and accurate measurements under the EU legislation. The required sensitivity is achieved by performing in selected ion monitoring (SIM) or selected reaction monitoring (SRM), limiting the measurements to the specific target analytes for which EU maximum levels were established. Comprehensive two-dimensional GC coupled with time-of-flight MS (GC×GC–TOF‑MS), acquiring all masses within a defined mass range, has been used for dioxin measurement in the past but was suffering from limited sensitivity at the high femtogram level, despite the zone compression effect of the modulator. In this talk, we discuss the use of a new generation of GC×GC–TOF-MS systems for targeted and non-targeted measurements of dioxins in food and feed samples.
Key Learning Objectives
  • The challenges of the analysis of dioxins in food and feed
  • How different analytical techniques — particularly GC with triple-quadrupole MS, sector MS, or TOF‑MS detection — can be used for the analysis of dioxins, including a discussion of limits of detection
  • How GC×GC–TOF‑MS can be used for femtogram-level detection of dioxins in food and feed
Register now
Sponsored by:
LECO
All attendees receive a free executive summary of the webcast.
Unable to attend? All registrants receive a link to a recorded version of the webcast.